VirtualBox

In one of my previous posts I had discussed the use of VMware server 2.0; however after listening to some podcasts and reading some blogs I decided to try VirtualBox. I must say that I like Virtual Box. It has a simple interface. I like the preview window that displays content of the virtual machine. Installation of a new virtual machine required answering a few questions. So far I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 and Windows XP SP3 virtual machines.

I installed VirtualBox (version 4.0.2) on Debian 5.0 as per instruction on the VirtualBox website. I had to install the VirtualBox Extension Pack so that the virtual machines could access the USB ports of the host.

So far it looks like I will be saying goodbye to VMware Server.

Leave a Reply

